This is the "Home" page of the "US 1920s" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US 1920s  

Last Updated: Apr 28, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/1920s Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Cover Art
Roaring Twenties Reference Library Set - UXL (Created by); Kelly King Howes
ISBN: 9781414402109
Publication Date: 2005-10-21
The Roaring Twenties Reference Library chronicles and illustrates a time of great social change in everything from fashion to music to politics.

Cover Art
American Decades Primary Sources - Cynthia Rose (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787665876
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.

Cover Art
American Eras - Gretchen D. Starr-LeBeau (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787614775
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.

Cover Art
American Social Reform Movements Reference Library - Thomson Gale Staff
ISBN: 9781414402147
Publication Date: 2006-10-26
This four-volume set chronicles and illustrates movements from the American Revolution to the present day. Intended to help students successfully complete research and projects.

Cover Art
Dictionary of American History
ISBN: 0684805332
Publication Date: 2002-12-11
The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.

Cover Art
U-X-L Encyclopedia of World Biography
ISBN: 0787664650
Publication Date: 2002-11-15
A collection of 750 biographies and portraits of notable historic and current figures in American and world history, literature, science and math, arts and entertainment, and the social sciences.

Cover Art
Modern American Literature
ISBN: 1558623795
Publication Date: 1998-12-04
Provides insight into the careers of nearly 500 20th-century American writers, including black and women writers. Entries include important critical excerpts, chronologically arranged and collected from a wide variety of sources such as books, scholarly journals, general periodicals and newspapers.

Cover Art
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through American History 1900 to the Present - Amy T. Peterson; Ann T. Kellogg
ISBN: 9780313358562
Covers descriptions of styles of clothes that Americans have worn and why they wore those types of clothes. Examines the impact that political and cultural events, arts and entertainment, daily life, and family structures have on fashion.

Cover Art
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas - Maryanne Cline Horowitz
ISBN: 0684313774
Publication Date: 2004-12-03
A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. For students and general readers.

 

DVDs in the library

Cover Art
Prohibition - a film by Ken Burns & Lynn Novick
Call Number: DVD 363.410 PRO
Publication Date: 2011
Documents the history of the Prohibition, from 1920, when, after a century of debate, the United States outlaws the manufacture and sale of alcohol, to the early 1930s when the amendment is repealed. 360 minutes on 3 discs.

Cover Art
The roaring twenties - Schlessinger Media
Call Number: DVD 973 ROA
Publication Date: 2003
Covers America during the 1920s, preceding the Great Depression, when normalcy included the start of the automobile culture, flappers, the revolution in manners and morals and more. 30 minutes

Jazz : The Story of America's Music - Ken Burns
Call Number: AUD 781.65 KEN
Audio recordings of the music used in the 10 part video series Jazz.

NoodleTools

Log into your Noodle account here to organize research notes, create bibliographies, and even submit projects.

 

Books in the library

Great stuff on the shelf!

Cover Art
Great American Trials
Call Number: R 347.73 GRE
ISBN: 0787649015
Publication Date: 2001-11-23
Presents summaries of 379 of the most significant and celebrated trials in American history, each with the names of key players, the charges, location, a narrative of circumstances leading up to the trial, the trial itself, the verdict and sentence, and a discussion of the impact of the trial. Arranged chronologically from 1637 through 2001.

Cover Art
Fashions of a Decade - Jacqueline Herald; Valerie Cumming (Editor); Elane Feldman (Editor)
Call Number: 391 HER
ISBN: 0816024650
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Surveys the fads, fashions, trends, and cultural and intellectual preoccupations of the comfortable, high-living 1920s.

Cover Art
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through American History, 1900 to the Present - Amy T. Peterson (Editor); Ann T. Kellogg (Editor); José Blanco F.; Valerie Hewitt; Scott Leff; Lynn W. Payne; Heather Vaughan
Call Number: R 391.00973 BLA
ISBN: 9780313358555
Publication Date: 2008-10-30
Discusses the social significance of dress in the U.S. from 1900-2008, covering the dynamics of fashion and society and the impact of political and cultural events, arts and entertainment, daily life, and family structures, with timelines, a glossary, and illustrations.

Cover Art
American Media - Ted Gottfried
Call Number: 302.23 GOT
ISBN: 0531113159
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
Surveys the history of American media, covering such aspects as yellow journalism, the syndicates, and radio news.

Cover Art
One Hundred Twenty Five Years of Baseball - Joseph Wallace (Editor)
Call Number: 796.357 BAS
ISBN: 0810931354
Publication Date: 1994-08-01
Consists of excerpts from books and articles from newspapers and magazines originally published 1896-1993.

Cover Art
Shoeless Joe and Ragtime Baseball - Harvey Frommer
Call Number: B JAC
ISBN: 0878337849
Publication Date: 1992-04-01
In-depth biography of baseball player Jefferson "Shoeless Joe" Jackson who was involved in the Black Sox scandal, but maintained his innocence until his death.

Cover Art
The Big Bam - Leigh Montville
Call Number: B RUT
ISBN: 0385514379
Publication Date: 2006-05-02
A biography of Babe Ruth, based on newly discovered documents and interviews, providing information on his childhood in Baltimore, his discovery of baseball, and his record breaking career as an explosive slugger and cultural icon.

Cover Art
Capone - Laurence Bergreen
Call Number: B CAP
ISBN: 0671744569
Publication Date: 1994-08-04
Biography of Chicago criminal Al Capone discussing his life, criminal activity, the complex personality of the man, and the Prohibition era.

PBS Learning Media

Videos, interactive timelines, projects, images, primary sources - a wealth of resources from PBS.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search the entire Gale electronic reference book collection on a wide array of topics. Citations tools, too!


 

Questia School

 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search

Google it!

 

YOO HOO OVER HERE

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip