This is the "Home" page of the "US Beowulf" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Beowulf  

Last Updated: Apr 28, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/beowulf Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Beowulf - J. Lesslie Hall, translator
Publication Date: 1892
An electronic text via Project Gutenberg.

Beowulf - Francis Barton Gummere
Publication Date: 1910
An electronic text via Project Gutenberg.

Cover Art
Beowulf - George Clark (Editor)
ISBN: 9780805769968
Publication Date: 1990-05-01
Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Beowulf.

 

DVDs in the library

Cover Art
The adventure of English - produced and directed by Robert Bee, David Thomas, and Nigel Wattis ; series producer, Melvyn Bragg
Call Number: DVD 420.9 ADV
Publication Date: 2009
Discusses the history and the origins of the English language in this eight-episode documentary. Explores the diversity of English throughout its 1,500-year history, from Beowulf to American slang. Melvyn Bragg and other experts explore the 1,500-year history of the English language and answer questions such as: How did it grow from a relatively insignificant Germanic dialect to become the premier language of culture, commerce, and diplomacy around the globe? 405 minutes on 4 discs.

Cover Art
Beowulf - Robert Zemeckis
Call Number: DVD 813.54 BEO
Publication Date: 2007
Robert Zemeckis tells the oldest epic tale in the English language with the most modern technology, advancing the cinematic forum through the magic of digitally enhanced live action. 114 minutes.

Cover Art
The background to Beowulf - written by Gary Edmondson
Call Number: DVD 829.3 BAC
Publication Date: 1995
Describes the historical and literary traditions of the era in which "Beowulf" was written, and examines the plot and characters of the Anglo-Saxon epic. 25 minutes.

Cover Art
Beowulf and the Anglo Saxons - written by Peter Morgan Jones
Call Number: DVD 829.3 BEO
Traces the origins of the tribes that created the Beowulf epic; and investigates the civilizations of the Norsemen from Sweden, Denmark, and Germany along with their religious beliefs and everyday life. 64 minutes.

 

Books in the library

Great stuff on the shelf!

Cover Art
Beowulf - Seamus Heaney (Translator)
Call Number: 829.3 HEA
ISBN: 0374111197
Publication Date: 2000-02-15
Twentieth-century Irish poet Seamus Heaney's verse translation of the Christian-pagan, classic Old English poem "Beowulf," in which a Norse hero saves Denmark's royal house from monsters; provides the Old English version on facing pages and includes brief genealogies of the work's Danish, Geat, and Swedish royal families, and an introduction by Heaney

Cover Art
Beowulf - Joseph Tuso; Nicholas Howe; E. Talbot Donaldson
Call Number: 829.3 BEO
ISBN: 0393974065
Publication Date: 1998-11-05
Contains the prose translation of "Beowulf" and provides historical, linguistic, and literary settings, origins of Old English language, and material on Beowulf's tribes and genealogies.

Cover Art
Grendel - John E. Gardner; John Gardner
Call Number: F GAR
ISBN: 0679723110
Publication Date: 1989-05-14
Grendel, the monster, tells his side of the Beowulf story, and compares his values with the chief values of human beings.

Cover Art
Anthology of Beowulf Criticism - Lewis Nicholson
Call Number: 829.3 NIC
ISBN: 9780268000066
Publication Date: 1991-10-31
An anthology of criticism on the early medieval masterpiece. The contributions to this anthology are arranged chronologically according to the date of the criticism's first publication.

Cover Art
Beowulf - Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
Call Number: 829 BEO
ISBN: 0877549044
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
Presents twentieth-century critical essays on the Old English poem "Beowulf" and includes a chronology, a bibliography, and an introduction by critic Harold Bloom.

Cover Art
Beowulf - Harold Bloom (Editor, Introduction by)
Call Number: 829 BEO
ISBN: 0791040534
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Includes information about the author of "Beowulf," thematic and structural analysis of the work, critical views, and an index of themes and ideas.

Cover Art
Bloom's Literary Themes - Harold Bloom (Contribution by); Blake Hobby (Editor)
Call Number: 809.933 HOB
ISBN: 9780791098059
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
Contains twenty critical essays that explore themes of rebirth and renewal in various works, such as Beowulf and the Canterbury Tales.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Questia School

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search

Google it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip