This is the "Home" page of the "US Greek Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Greek Literature  

A guide to the literature of ancient Greece, including the works of Homer. For myths, please see the guide on Greek mythology.
Last Updated: Apr 28, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/content.php?pid=665792 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Cover Art
Aeschylus - Lois Spatz
ISBN: 0805765220
Publication Date: 1982-12-01
Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Aeschylus.

Cover Art
Ancient Greece and Rome
ISBN: 9780684805078
Publication Date: 1998-05-20
Covers an extensive array of topics on ancient Greece and Rome including daily life, art and architecture, philosophy, science, religion, statesmen, military leaders, emperors, and more.

Cover Art
Aristophanes - Lois S. Spatz
ISBN: 0805763236
Publication Date: 1978-06-01
Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Aristophanes.

Cover Art
Aristotle - John Ferguson
ISBN: 0805720642
Publication Date: 1972-06-01
Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Aristotle.

Cover Art
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras - James Evans
ISBN: 0787656992
Publication Date: 2004-06-07
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.

Cover Art
Classical Greek Civilization - John T. Kirby (Editor)
ISBN: 0787617075
Publication Date: 2000-12-05
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of classical Greek civilization, 800-323 B.C.E.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Religion
ISBN: 0028657330
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.

Cover Art
Homer - Andre Michalopoulos
ISBN: 080572432X
Publication Date: 1966-06-01
Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Homer.

Iliad
Publication Date: 1720
An ebook version of Homer's Iliad, in a verse translation by Alexander Pope.

Odyssey
Publication Date: 1726
An ebook version of Homer's Odyssey, in a verse translation by Alexander Pope.

Cover Art
Sophocles - Ruth Scodel
ISBN: 9780805765786
Publication Date: 1984-07-01
Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of Sophocles.

NoodleTools

Log into your Noodle account here to organize research notes, create bibliographies, and even submit projects.

 

Books in the library

A short selection of what's available. To see a full list, please consult the PDF in the box below.

Cover Art
The Oxford Classical Dictionary - Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor)
Call Number: R 938.003 OXF
ISBN: 019866172X
Publication Date: 1996-12-12
Contains six thousand entries addressing everyday life in the Greco-Roman world looking at the arts, law, science, culture, marriage, and information on key persons who shaped their world.

Cover Art
A Companion to Homer's Odyssey - James Morrison
Call Number: 883.01 MOR
ISBN: 0313318549
Publication Date: 2003-06-30
A study companion to Homer's "Odyssey" containing historical and mythological background; discussion of Homeric values and the plot, themes, and literary features of each of the epic's books; a character index; and suggested activities and classroom projects.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Traditional Epics - Guida M. Jackson
Call Number: R 398.22 JAC
ISBN: 0874367247
Publication Date: 1994-06-30
Includes famous epics such as Chanson de Roland and the Iliad, as well as lesser known ones from remote regions of the world. Entries include epic titles, events, author names, symbols, etc.

Cover Art
Homeric Moments - Eva Brann
Call Number: 883.01 BRA
ISBN: 0967967570
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Reflects upon nearly fifty key characters, events, and literary aspects of Homer's "Iliad" and "Odyssey," discussing each important moment's layers of meaning and showing that the texts, considered classics, are still vital.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature - Margaret Howatson
Call Number: R 880.9 OXF
ISBN: 0198661215
Publication Date: 1989-05-25
Covers classical authors, character entries, plot summaries, literary forms, historical events of the period, maps, and Latin and Greek translations.

Cover Art
Theogony and Works and Days - Hesiod; M. L. West (Translator)
Call Number: 881.01 HES
ISBN: 9780199538317
Publication Date: 2009-07-26
The Theogony contains a systematic genealogy and account of the struggles of the gods, and the Works and Days offers a compendium of moral and practical advice for a life of honest husbandry.

Cover Art
The Three Theban Plays - Sophocles; Robert Fagles (Translator); Bernard Knox (Introduction by, Notes by)
Call Number: 882.01 SOP
ISBN: 0140444254
Publication Date: 1984-02-07
The Fagles translation of Antigone, Oedipus the King, and Oedipus at Colonus.

Perseus Digital Library

Ancient texts in their original language or in translation, photographs of archaeological sites and images of artifacts such as pottery and coins. All in one spot!

Useful websites

PBS Learning Media

Videos, interactive timelines, projects, images, primary sources - a wealth of resources from PBS.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search the entire Gale electronic reference book collection on a wide array of topics. Citations tools, too!


 

Questia School

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search
 

Oxford Art Online

 

Oxford Music Online

 

Florida Electronic Library

Are you in Florida? Do you need library materials? Then this is for you!

 

WorldCat

The secret to my superpowers. Don't tell.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Google it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip