This is the "Home" page of the "US Early American History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Early American History  

Last Updated: Apr 28, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/earlyamhist Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Cover Art
The Colonial Era, 1600-1754 - Jessica Kross
ISBN: 0787614793
Publication Date: 1998-02-06
Contents: vol. 1. Early American civilizations and exploration to 1600 - edited by Gretchen D. Starr-LeBeau -- vol. 2. The colonial era, 1600-1754 - edited by Jessica Kross -- vol. 3. The revolutionary era, 1754-1783 - edited by Robert J. Allison -- vol. 4. Development of a nation, 1783-1815 - edited by Robert J. Allison -- vol. 5. The reform era and eastern U.S. development, 1815-1850 - edited by Gerald J. Prokopowicz -- vol. 6. Westward expansion, 1800-1860 - edited by Peter C. Mancall -- vol. 7. Civil War and Reconstruction, 1850-1877 - edited by Thomas J. Brown -- vol. 8. Development of the industrial United States, 1878-1899 - edited by Vincent Tompkins.

Cover Art
Colonial America Reference Library - Peggy Saari; Julie Carnagie
ISBN: 9780787692940
Publication Date: 2004-08-01
The Colonial America Reference Library provides students with the comprehensive information on the Colonial American period they need to write reports and class assignments including biographical profiles and primary source documents.

Cover Art
UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes - Laurie J. Edwards (Editor)
ISBN: 9781414490984
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.

Cover Art
Americans at War - John Phillips Resch
ISBN: 9780028659930
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Covers major American conflicts from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the home front. Illustrated articles cover both biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations, monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music.

 

DVDs in the library

Cover Art
Three worlds meet, origins-1620
Call Number: DVD 973 THR
Covers the discovery and early settlement of America. 30 minutes.

Cover Art
We shall remain: America through native eyes
Call Number: DVD 970 WES
Tells the history of the United States from the Native American perspective on three discs, each about 75 minutes. Disc 1: After the Mayflower. Disc 2: Tecumseh's vision. Disc 3: Geronimo.

Cover Art
The era of colonization, 1585-1763
Call Number: DVD 973 ERA
Covers the Colonial period in American history. 30 minutes.

 

Books in the library

Great stuff on the shelf!

Cover Art
Written in Bone - Sally M. Walker
Call Number: 614.17 WAL
ISBN: 9780822571353
Publication Date: 2009-01-02
Reports on the work of forensic scientists who are excavating grave sites in James Fort, in Jamestown, Virginia, to understand who lived in the Chesapeake Bay area in the 1600s and 1700s; and uncovers the lives of a teenage boy, a ship's captain, a colonial officer, an African slave girl, and others.

Cover Art
Empire - Niall Ferguson
Call Number: 909.09 FER
ISBN: 0465023290
Publication Date: 2004-04-14
Examines the impact the British empire had on world government, economy, and culture from the seventeenth century to the mid-twentieth century, and explains why the empire's dominance subsided in the last half of the twentieth century.

Cover Art
Spirits of the Passage - Rosenarte Robotham
Call Number: 326 BUR
ISBN: 0684818191
Publication Date: 1997-02-12
A visual chronicle of the early years of the slave trade, following the course of the Henrietta Marie, a slave ship recently recovered from the waters off the coast of Key West, Florida, on the first of its slaving voyages in the late 1600s, from London to the west coast of Africa, to the colonies of the Americas, and back to Europe.

Cover Art
The Name of War - Jill Lepore
Call Number: 973.2 LEP
ISBN: 0679446869
Publication Date: 1998-01-20
Tells the story of the King Philip's War of 1675 between New England colonists and the Wampanoag Indians, and examines how the writing about the war, done primarily by the colonists after the conflict, affected future relations and attitudes between Indians and Anglos.

Cover Art
The Ordeal of the Longhouse - Daniel K. Richter
Call Number: 974.700 RIC
ISBN: 0807820601
Publication Date: 1992-12-14
Traces the history of the Iroquois League in the early colonial period, and explores how the tribes shaped their own lives and those of the early settlers they came into contact with.

Cover Art
Mayflower - Nathaniel Philbrick
Call Number: 973.2 PHI
ISBN: 0670037605
Publication Date: 2006-05-09
A history of the Pilgrim settlement of New England that discusses such topics as the diseases of European origin suffered by the Wampanoag tribe, the relationship between the Pilgrims and the Wampanoags, and the impact of the King Philip's War.

Cover Art
The Wordy Shipmates - Sarah Vowell
Call Number: 974.088 VOW
ISBN: 1594489998
Publication Date: 2008-10-07
An exploration of the Puritans that discusses their beliefs and practices and exploring how they have influenced modern politics.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Questia School

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search

Google it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip