This is the "Home" page of the "US Gilded Age & Progressive Era" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Gilded Age & Progressive Era  

Last Updated: Nov 30, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/gildedage Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Cover Art
Gilded Age and Progressive Era - Rebecca Valentine; Lawrence W. Baker
ISBN: 9781414401935
Publication Date: 2006-11-28
Focused on the significant social and culture changes that occurred in the years 1878-1913. Contains an almanac, biographies and primary sources.

Cover Art
American Social Reform Movements Reference Library - Thomson Gale Staff
ISBN: 9781414402147
Publication Date: 2006-10-26
Chronicles and illustrates movements from the American Revolution to the present day. Contains an almanac, biographies and primary sources.

Cover Art
Development of the Industrial U. S. 3 Volume Set - UXL (Created by); Sonia G. Benson
ISBN: 1414401744
Publication Date: 2005-11-16
In the second half of the 19th century, America transformed itself into an industrial power, ready to assume a dominant position on the world scene in the 20th century. Contains an almanac, biographies and primary sources.

Cover Art
Development of the Industrial United States (1878-1899) - Vincent Thompkins (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787614850
Publication Date: 1997-05-23
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to various eras in U.S. history. Volume 8 covers the development of the industrial United States, 1878-1899.

Cover Art
U-X-L Encyclopedia of World Biography
ISBN: 9780787664657
Publication Date: 2002-11-15
A collection of 750 biographies and portraits of notable historic and current figures in American and world history, literature, science and math, arts and entertainment, and the social sciences. Illustrated.

 

Streaming online videos

Title Segment Transcript
 

Online biographies

 

DVDs in the library

Cover Art
The progressive movement - Schlessinger Media
Call Number: DVD 973 PRO
Publication Date: 2003
Covers the progressive movement of the early 20th century, the suffrage movement, progressive educators like Booker T. Washington and W.E.B. Du Bois, and political fads such as the socialists and the Wobblies. 30 minutes.

Cover Art
Industrialization & urbanization, 1870-1910 - Schlessinger Media
Call Number: DVD 973 IND
Publication Date: 2003
Covers the last decades of the 19th century, a period of industrialization and urbanization. Includes the steam engine, railroads, the rise of heavy industry, the Homestead Act of 1862, the agricultural revolution, immigration and westward migration, pollution as a social issue, and the conservation movement. 30 minutes.

NoodleTools

Log into your Noodle account here to organize research notes, create bibliographies, and even submit projects.

 

Books in the library

Great stuff on the shelf!

Cover Art
Vanderbilts and the Gilded Age - John Foreman
Call Number: 728.8 FOR
ISBN: 0312059841
Publication Date: 1991-04-01
After an introductory chapter on the family antecedents, the book consists of a chapter on each of the houses--Biltmore, Shelburne, the Breakers, Marble House, and others less well known--that the third generation of wealth erected in what Mark Twain labeled "the gilded age."

Cover Art
America's Gilded Age - Judith F. Clark
Call Number: 973.8 CLA
ISBN: 0816022461
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Traces the history of the United States from 1865 to 1901 through such primary sources as memoirs, diaries, letters, contemporary journalism, and official documents.

PBS Learning Media

Many rich resources including images, primary source documents, and video clips across hundreds of subjects.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Questia School

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search

Google it!

 

Oxford Art Online

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip