This is the "Home" page of the "US Life in Ancient Greece" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Life in Ancient Greece  

A guide to resources on life in ancient Greece. For myth or history, please see the Greek Mythology or Greek history guides.
Last Updated: Apr 28, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/greecedailylife Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Cover Art
Ancient Greece and Rome
ISBN: 9780684805078
Publication Date: 1998-05-20
Covers an extensive array of topics on ancient Greece and Rome including daily life, art and architecture, philosophy, science, religion, statesmen, military leaders, emperors, and more.

Cover Art
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras - James Evans
ISBN: 0787656992
Publication Date: 2004-06-07
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Religion
ISBN: 0028657330
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.

Cover Art
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas - Maryanne Cline Horowitz
ISBN: 0684313774
Publication Date: 2004-12-03
A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. For students and general readers.

Cover Art
U-X-L Encyclopedia of World Biography
ISBN: 0787664650
Publication Date: 2002-11-15
A collection of 750 biographies and portraits of notable historic and current figures in American and world history, literature, science and math, arts and entertainment, and the social sciences.

 

DVDs in the library

Cover Art
The Greeks: crucible of civilization - PBS
Call Number: DVD 938.03 GRE
Dramatic stories and computer animation re-create Classical Greece, founder of modern science, politics, warfare, philosophy, and source of breathtaking art and architecture. This film charts the rise, triumph, and decline of the world's oldest democracy, witnessed through the eyes of Pericles, Socrates, Plato, and Aristotle. 165 minutes on one disc. Narrated by Liam Neeson.

NoodleTools

Log into your Noodle account here to organize research notes, create bibliographies, and even submit projects.

 

Books in the library

Not everything we've got, but a nice sample of what's on the shelf in the library.

Cover Art
The Oxford Classical Dictionary - Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor)
Call Number: R 938.003 OXF
ISBN: 019866172X
Publication Date: 1996-12-12
Contains six thousand entries addressing everyday life in the Greco-Roman world looking at the arts, law, science, culture, marriage, and information on key persons who shaped their world.

Cover Art
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean - Rachel Kitzinger (Editor); Michael Grant (Editor)
Call Number: R 938.19 CIV
ISBN: 0684175940
Publication Date: 1988-01-01
A collection of ninety-seven essays that provide information about the ancient Mediterranean civilizations of Greece and Rome. Especially useful for aspects of daily life such as clothing, music, food, sport, and marriage and family life.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World - David Sacks; Margaret Bunson (Illustrator)
Call Number: R 938 SAC
ISBN: 0816023239
Publication Date: 1995-06-01
A-to-Z reference provides an appraisal of the spiritual and intellectual genius of Greek civilization, encompassing politics, geography, mythical figures, and great thinkers.

Cover Art
Women in Ancient Greece - Fiona MacDonald
Call Number: 305.4 MAC
ISBN: 0872265684
Publication Date: 1999-01-15
Examines the status and conditions of women in ancient Greek society, discussing such topics as marriage and family life, clothing, domestic duties, religion, and more.

Cover Art
Sport in Ancient Times - Nigel B. Crowther
Call Number: 796.0901 CRO
ISBN: 0275987396
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Examines the importance of athletic competitions in ancient cultures and societies, which includes Asia, the Middle East, Egypt, Greece, Italy, and more; and also discusses the ancient Olympic games, Roman gladiators, and women's roles in sports.

Cover Art
The Ancient City - Peter Connolly; Hazel Dodge (As told to)
Call Number: 937.06 CON
ISBN: 0199172420
Publication Date: 1998-05-21
Recreates the public buildings, temples, shops, and houses of ancient Athens and Rome, providing a window through which to look at the development of the cities and their architecture, and to discuss various aspects of daily life, including religion, food, drama, games, food, culture, and entertainment.

Cover Art
Atlas of the Greek World - Peter Levi
Call Number: 938 LEV
ISBN: 0871964481
Publication Date: 1981-03-01
Text, illustrations, and maps describe the cultural background of Greece, geography, history, and Greek society.

Cover Art
Ancient Athens on 5 Drachmas a Day - Philip Matyszak
Call Number: 938.5 MAT
ISBN: 0500287651
Publication Date: 2008-10-17
Uses a travel guide format to provide insights into the history and culture of ancient Athens, looking at what a person visiting the city 2,500 years ago might expect to experience.

Perseus Digital Library

Ancient texts in their original language or in translation, photographs of archaeological sites and images of artifacts such as pottery and coins. All in one spot!

PBS Learning Media

Videos, interactive timelines, projects, images, primary sources - a wealth of resources from PBS.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search the entire Gale electronic reference book collection on a wide array of topics. Citations tools, too!


 

Questia School

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search
 

Oxford Art Online

 

Oxford Music Online

 

Florida Electronic Library

Are you in Florida? Do you need library materials? Then this is for you!

 

WorldCat

The secret to my superpowers. Don't tell.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Google it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip