This is the "Home" page of the "US Greek Mythology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Greek Mythology  

A guide to the myths and legends of ancient Greece.
Last Updated: Apr 28, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/greekmythology Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Cover Art
Ancient Greece and Rome
ISBN: 9780684805078
Publication Date: 1998-05-20
Covers an extensive array of topics on ancient Greece and Rome including daily life, art and architecture, philosophy, science, religion, statesmen, military leaders, emperors, and more.

Cover Art
Arts and Humanities Through the Eras - James Evans
ISBN: 0787656992
Publication Date: 2004-06-07
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Religion
ISBN: 0028657330
Publication Date: 2004-12-17
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.

Cover Art
The Facts on File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend - Anthony S. Mercatante; James R. Dow
ISBN: 1438126859
Presents a two-volume illustrated A to Z reference containing approximately 3,000 entries providing information on myths, fables and legends from around the world.

Cover Art
Myths and Legends of Ancient Greece and Rome - E.M. Berens
Publication Date: 1880
"It is hardly necessary to dwell upon the importance of the study of Mythology: our poems, our novels, and even our daily journals teem with classical allusions; nor can a visit to our art galleries and museums be fully enjoyed without something more than a mere superficial knowledge of a subject which has in all ages inspired painters, sculptors, and poets."

 

DVDs in the library

Cover Art
Gods and goddesses - History Channel
Call Number: DVD 292.211 GOD
Publication Date: 2006
Traces the history of classical Greece through the evolution of its deities, and visits archeological sites where new discoveries are being made that suggest that some tales from Greek mythology may have roots in actual events. 100 minutes.

Cover Art
The Greek Gods - The History Channel
Call Number: DVD 292.211 GRE
Publication Date: 2005
Explores the story of the enduring figures of Greek mythology, and examines why the Greeks endowed their deities with such human failings. Also looks at works of art that have preserved these ancient images for all time and how these epic figures have been integrated into modern life. 50 minutes. Narrated by Dan Ackroyd.

NoodleTools

Log into your Noodle account here to organize research notes, create bibliographies, and even submit projects.

 

Books in the library

Not everything we've got, but a nice sample of what's on the shelf in the library.

Cover Art
The Oxford Classical Dictionary - Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor)
Call Number: R 938.003 OXF
ISBN: 019866172X
Publication Date: 1996-12-12
Contains six thousand entries addressing everyday life in the Greco-Roman world looking at the arts, law, science, culture, marriage, and information on key persons who shaped their world.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World - David Sacks; Margaret Bunson (Illustrator)
Call Number: R 938 SAC
ISBN: 0816023239
Publication Date: 1995-06-01
A-to-Z reference provides an appraisal of the spiritual and intellectual genius of Greek civilization, encompassing politics, geography, mythical figures, and great thinkers.

Cover Art
Bulfinch's Mythology - Thomas Bulfinch
Call Number: R 398.2 BUL
ISBN: 0517274159
Publication Date: 2003-08-05
The gold standard in mythology for many decades.

Cover Art
Goddesses in World Mythology - Martha Ann; Dorothy Imel
Call Number: 291.2 ANN
ISBN: 0874367158
Publication Date: 1993-06-30
Just in case you need more about the distaff side, this title offers information on more than 9,500 goddesses, nymphs, demons, and deified women from hundreds of cultures around the world.

Cover Art
The Penguin Dictionary of Classical Mythology - Pierre Grimal; Stephen Kershaw (Editor); Cecil Parrott; A. R. Maxwell-Hyslop (Translator)
Call Number: R 292.13 GRI
ISBN: 0140512357
Publication Date: 1992-01-07
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about the central characters and events of classical Greek and Roman mythology, and includes cross-references and genealogical tables.

Cover Art
The Ancient City - Peter Connolly; Hazel Dodge (As told to)
Call Number: 937.06 CON
ISBN: 0199172420
Publication Date: 1998-05-21
Recreates the public buildings, temples, shops, and houses of ancient Athens and Rome, providing a window through which to look at the development of the cities and their architecture, and to discuss various aspects of daily life, including religion, food, drama, games, food, culture, and entertainment.

Cover Art
Mythology - Edith Hamilton
Call Number: 290 HAM
ISBN: 0452009855
Publication Date: 1989-03-01
A collection of Greek and Roman myths from various classical sources arranged in section on the gods and early heroes, love and adventure stories, heroes before and during the Trojan War, and lesser myths. Includes a brief section on Norse mythology. By reputation, the successor to Bulfinch.

Perseus Digital Library

Ancient texts in their original language or in translation, photographs of archaeological sites and images of artifacts such as pottery and coins. All in one spot!

Useful websites

PBS Learning Media

Videos, interactive timelines, projects, images, primary sources - a wealth of resources from PBS.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search the entire Gale electronic reference book collection on a wide array of topics. Citations tools, too!


 

Questia School

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search
 

Oxford Art Online

 

Oxford Music Online

 

Florida Electronic Library

Are you in Florida? Do you need library materials? Then this is for you!

 

WorldCat

The secret to my superpowers. Don't tell.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Google it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip