This is the "Home" page of the "US Mathematicians" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Mathematicians  

Last Updated: Apr 28, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/mathematicians Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Science - K. Lee Lerner; Brenda Wilmoth Lerner
ISBN: 1414428774
Publication Date: 2007-10-09
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology.

Cover Art
Infinite Ascent - David Berlinski
ISBN: 0812978714
Publication Date: 2008-01-08
Available through OverDrive. Berlinski focuses on the ten most important breakthroughs in mathematical history–and the men behind them. Here are Pythagoras, intoxicated by the mystical significance of numbers; Euclid, who gave the world the very idea of a proof; Leibniz and Newton, co-discoverers of the calculus; Cantor, master of the infinite; and Gödel, who in one magnificent proof placed everything in doubt.

Mathematics - Max Brandenberger (Editor)
ISBN: 9780028659046
Publication Date: 2003-10-01
Explains mathematical concepts with an historical overview of the field. Explores the uses and effects of math in daily life, and provides information on different career choices in this field. For academic readers.

Cover Art
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas - Maryanne Cline Horowitz
ISBN: 0684313774
Publication Date: 2004-12-03
A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. For students and general readers.

Cover Art
Science and Its Times - Neil Schlager
ISBN: 078763932X
Publication Date: 2000-04-07
This series discusses how the major fields of science developed during specific time periods. Each volume focuses on a range of years and includes developments in exploration, life sciences, mathematics, physical sciences, and technology. When the series is completed, the seven volumes will cover 2000 B.C. to the present.

Cover Art
World Eras - James Farr (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787660468
Publication Date: 2002-11-18
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history.

Cover Art
U-X-L Encyclopedia of World Biography
ISBN: 0787664650
Publication Date: 2002-11-15
A collection of 750 biographies and portraits of notable historic and current figures in American and world history, literature, science and math, arts and entertainment, and the social sciences.

 

DVDs in the library

Cover Art
The Story of Math - Marcus du Sautoy
Call Number: DVD 510.9 STO
Publication Date: 2009
Explores various aspects of mathematics to illustrate how mathematical ideas have been part of developments in science, technology, and culture throughout time and around the world, covering topics such as the invention of the concepts of zero and infinity and efforts to describe a body in motion through calculus. 232 minutes on 3 discs.

NoodleTools

Log into your Noodle account here to organize research notes, create bibliographies, and even submit projects.

 

Books in the library

Great stuff on the shelf!

Celebrating Women in Mathematics and Science - Miriam P. Cooney (Editor); Kevin Chadwick (Illustrator)
Call Number: 509.22 COO
ISBN: 0873534255
Publication Date: 1996-04-01
A collection of twenty-two stories that provide information about the lives and works of women from throughout history who made significant contributions to the development of science and mathematics.

Cover Art
Change Is Possible - Patricia C. Kenschaft
Call Number: 510.82 KEN
ISBN: 0821837486
Publication Date: 2005-09-19

Cover Art
A History of Mathematics - Carl B. Boyer
Call Number: 510.9 BOY
ISBN: 0471543977
Publication Date: 1991-03-20
A history of mathematics from early number systems to the paradoxes of set theory.

Cover Art
Five Equations That Changed the World - Michael Guillen
Call Number: 530.1 GUI
ISBN: 0786861037
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
The stories of the people and discoveries that led to the five most powerful and important scientific achievements in human history.

Cover Art
Notable Mathematicians - Young Robin; Zoran Minderovic (Editor); Robyn V. Young (Editor)
Call Number: R 510.92 NOT
ISBN: 0787630713
Publication Date: 1998-04-24
Contains alphabetically arranged essays that provide information about the lives and achievements of more than three hundred notable mathematicians from throughout history; and includes a timeline, a selected list of mathematical awards and winners, a bibliography, and four indexes.

Cover Art
The Oxford Classical Dictionary - Simon Hornblower (Editor); Antony Spawforth (Editor)
Call Number: R 938.003 OXF
ISBN: 019866172X
Publication Date: 1996-12-12
Contains six thousand entries addressing everyday life in the Greco-Roman world looking at the arts, law, science, culture, marriage, attitudes about sex, and information on key persons who shaped their world

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search

PBS Learning Media

Videos, interactive timelines, projects, images, primary sources - a wealth of resources from PBS.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search the entire Gale electronic reference book collection on a wide array of topics. Citations tools, too!


 

Questia School

 

Oxford Art Online

 

Oxford Music Online

 

Florida Electronic Library

Are you in Florida? Do you need library materials? Then this is for you!

 

WorldCat

The secret to my superpowers. Don't tell.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Google it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip