This is the "Home" page of the "US Monotheism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Monotheism  

Information and materials about the three great monotheistic religions: Judaism, Christianity and Islam.
Last Updated: Apr 28, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/monotheism Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Encyclopedia of Religion 2
ISBN: 9780028659978
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture.

Arts and Humanities Through the Eras
ISBN: 9780787693848
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Profiling milestones and movements in the arts, literature, music and religion from a specific period, each volume in this set helps students and researchers understand the various disciplines of the humanities in relation to each other, as well as to history and culture. An overview of the period and a chronology of major world events begin each volume.

Cover Art
Roman Republic and Empire - John T. Kirby (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780787645045
Publication Date: 2001-07-27
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of the Roman Republic and Empire, 264 B.C.E.-476 C.E.

Cover Art
The Rise and Spread of Islam - Susan L. Douglass (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787645038
Publication Date: 2002-06-04
Examines major civilizations that have flourished from antiquity to modern times, with a global perspective and a strong emphasis on daily life and social history. This volume provides in-depth coverage of the rise and spread of Islam, 622-1500.

 

DVDs in the library

Judaism - Schlessinger Media
Call Number: DVD 291 JUD
Publication Date: 2003
Learn the history of Jewish culture and why it has survived despite persecution through the ages. Examine sacred texts, holidays, and the centers of Jewish life, synagogue and the home. Narrated by Ben Kingsley. 50 minutes.

Orthodox and Roman Catholic Christianity - Schlessinger Media
Call Number: DVD 291 ORT
Publication Date: 2003
Examine the interwoven histories of these two distinct branches of Christianity and how it spread despite persecution to become the favored religion of the Roman Empire. See why theological differences between these two orders led to the present separation of cultures. Narrated by Ben Kingsley. 50 minutes

Islam - Schlessinger Media
Call Number: DVD 291 ISL
Publication Date: 2003
Explores the history of the world from the perspective of Islam, explaining Islamic culture through the daily life and rituals of Muslims around the world, and chronicling Islam's rise of the Ottoman Empire between the ninth and twelfth centuries to the twentieth. Narrated by Ben Kingsley. 50 minutes.

Available via Questia School

Log into Questia School first, then use these direct links to selected books and articles.

 

Books in the library

Go to the catalog FIRST with this link, choose "high school," and then return to the LibGuide to explore these books.

Cover Art
A History of God - Karen Armstrong
Call Number: 202.11 ARM
ISBN: 0517223120
Publication Date: 2004-03-02
One of Britain's foremost commentators on religious affairs, Armstrong traces the history of how men and women have perceived and experienced God, from the time of Abraham to the present.

Cover Art
The Jewish Primer - Shmuel Himelstein
Call Number: 296 HIM
ISBN: 0816023220
Publication Date: 1990-05-01
Questions and answers offer insights into the beliefs, rituals, customs, and laws that govern Jewish life.

Cover Art
Rome and Jerusalem - Martin Goodman
Call Number: 933 GOO
ISBN: 0375411852
Publication Date: 2007-10-23
Traces the history of the struggle between the Roman and Jewish world that led to the eventual destruction of Jerusalem, recounting the rebellions, riots, and attacks that occurred between the two groups and exploring the influence those attacks had on the city of Jerusalem and its people.

Cover Art
The Oxford History of Christianity - John McManners (Editor)
Call Number: R 270 MCM
ISBN: 0192852914
Publication Date: 1994-04-14
Spanning two thousand years of stirring religious, cultural and political events, this authoritative volume provides the most accessible history of Christianity ever published for the general reader. The impact of Christianity on world civilization is almost incalculable, and in exploring this rich heritage, nineteen leading scholars range from the earliest origins to the present day to examine virtually every aspect of the faith. (From the publisher.)

Cover Art
The History of Islam - Barry M. Rubin; Leora Garton
Call Number: 297.09 RUB
ISBN: 9781422205310
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
Describes the development of this major monotheistic religion during the seventh century and discusses the ways it spread beyond the Arabian Peninsula.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search everything we've got (except Questia) all at once!


Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

 

Questia School

 

Library catalog

Local holdings. What's that mean? All the books, DVDs, e-books and audios the library has, right next to where you're sitting. Visit the office to check out materials or find out how to use them better.

Google it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip