This is the "Home" page of the "US Native Americans" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Native Americans  

Last Updated: Apr 28, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/nativeamericans Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Cover Art
UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes - Laurie J. Edwards (Editor)
ISBN: 9781414490984
Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Provides detailed studies of tribes from all over the United States and Canada, including small tribes and some that no longer exist. Gives detailed yet accessible information on history, religion, art, government, economy, daily life and current social and political issues.

Cover Art
Dictionary of American History
ISBN: 9780684805337
Publication Date: 2002-12-11
The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.

Cover Art
U-X-L Encyclopedia of World Biography
ISBN: 0787664650
Publication Date: 2002-11-15
A collection of 750 biographies and portraits of notable historic and current figures in American and world history, literature, science and math, arts and entertainment, and the social sciences.

Cover Art
American Eras - Gretchen D. Starr-LeBeau (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787614775
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to various eras in U.S. history.

 

DVDs in the library

Cover Art
We shall remain: America through native eyes - WGBH Educational Foundation
Call Number: DVD 970 WES
Publication Date: 2009
Disc 1: After the Mayflower, 77 min. Disc 2: Tecumseh's vision, 75 min. Disc 3: Geronimo, 79 min. Narrated by Benjamin Bratt.

Cover Art
Bury my heart at wounded knee - HBO Video
Call Number: DVD 813.6 BUR
Publication Date: 2007
Starring Aidan Quinn. 132 min.

NoodleTools

Log into your Noodle account here to organize research notes, create bibliographies, and even submit projects.

 

Books in the library

Below is just a sampling of what the library has in print. There are more than 30 print titles on the subject of Native Americans on the shelf.

Cover Art
Five Hundred Nations - Alvin M. Josephy
Call Number: 970.004 JOS
ISBN: 0679429301
Publication Date: 1994-11-15
Explores the many worlds of North America's Indians -- their lives, cultures, and heritage.

Cover Art
Native American History - Judith Nies
Call Number: 970.004 NIE
ISBN: 0345393503
Publication Date: 1996-12-03
Chronology of Native American history from prehistory through 1996, presented in the form of a timeline, and providing information on such events as the construction of pyramids, Native American contributions to World War II victory, and the development of agriculture in Mesopotamia and Mexico.

Cover Art
Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee - Dee Alexander Brown
Call Number: 970.5 BRO
ISBN: 0030853222
Publication Date: 1971-01-01
Traces the white man's conquest of the Indians of the American West, emphasizing major Indian Wars.

 

Full list of Native American print books

PBS Learning Media

Videos, interactive timelines, projects, images, primary sources - a wealth of resources from PBS.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Questia School

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search

Google it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip