This is the "Home" page of the "US Russia" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US Russia  

Last Updated: Apr 28, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/russia Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Cover Art
Cold War Reference Library - Richard Clay Hanes
ISBN: 9780787676094
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Covers the Cold War period between the Western powers and the Communist bloc from the end of World War II through 1989. Includes discussion of the historic causes of the tension and information on the lives and actions of major figures, such as Harry Truman, Winston Churchill, and Joseph Stalin.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of European Social History - Peter Stearns (Editor)
ISBN: 0684805820
Publication Date: 2000-12-20
Covering the period from the beginning of the Renaissance to the present, this encyclopedia consists of 209 signed articles and nearly 300 biographical entries. The set is thoroughly indexed, amply illustrated, and a joy to read. Graduate students will find it useful as an introduction to historiography while advanced high school students will enjoy the articles on historical topics.

Cover Art
Major 21st Century Writers
ISBN: 9780787694012
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Contains detailed biographical and bibliographical information on the most-studied authors at the turn of the twenty-first century. More than 1,000 fully-updated entries cover the most influential contemporary writers and their careers through 2004.

Cover Art
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas - Maryanne Cline Horowitz
ISBN: 0684313774
Publication Date: 2004-12-03
A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. For students and general readers.

Cover Art
World War I - Tom Pendergast; Sara Pendergast; Christine Slovey (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787654757
Publication Date: 2001-10-26
Covers major topics related to the period, including the roots of the war; causes of U.S. involvement; the Espionage Act and Sedition Act; weapons of mass destruction; and more. Profiles the major players of the period, including Woodrow Wilson, Kaiser Wilhelm II, John Pershing, and Henri-Philippe Petain. Presents full or excerpted primary source materials, including diaries, speeches, letters, journals and memoirs

Cover Art
World War II Reference Library - UXL Staff
ISBN: 9780787639013
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
Provides background and information on major topics about the World War II period, biographies of significant men and women involved in the war, and primary sources such as full or excerpted speeches, diary entries, newspaper accounts and other original documents.

Cover Art
U-X-L Encyclopedia of World Biography
ISBN: 0787664650
Publication Date: 2002-11-15
A collection of 750 biographies and portraits of notable historic and current figures in American and world history, literature, science and math, arts and entertainment, and the social sciences.

NoodleTools

Log into your Noodle account here to organize research notes, create bibliographies, and even submit projects.

 

Books in the library

Great stuff on the shelf!

Cover Art
Lenin - Robert Service
Call Number: B LEN
ISBN: 9780674003309
Publication Date: 2000-10-18
A biography of Vladimir Lenin, founder of the communist party and the Soviet state, discussing his early life, education, and family; looking at events that fed his urge to rebel; and examining his roles as revolutionary, political leader, thinker, and private person.

Cover Art
Nicholas II - Marc Ferro; Brian Pearce (Translator)
Call Number: B NIC
ISBN: 0195081927
Publication Date: 1993-04-22
Biography of Tsar Nicholas II concentrating on his character and how it affected his ability to rule Russia.

Cover Art
The Life and Times of Grigorii Rasputin - Alex De Jonge
Call Number: B RAS
ISBN: 0698111362
Publication Date: 1982-04-23

Cover Art
The Rasputin File - Edvard Radzinsky; Judson Rosengrant (Translator)
Call Number: B RAS
ISBN: 0385489099
Publication Date: 2000-03-14
Examines the life of Rasputin, a controversial Russian monk and mystic who rose to power in the court of Nicholas and Alexandra, in the light of a long-lost file, rediscovered in 1995, that contains the interrogations of Rasputin's inner circle of admirers, and those who kept him under police surveillance.

Cover Art
Stalin - Edvard Radzinsky
Call Number: B STA
ISBN: 0385479549
Publication Date: 1997-08-18
Provides a detailed portrait of the former head of the Soviet Union focusing on his rise to power and use of terror to maintain his position.

Cover Art
Gulag - Anne Applebaum
Call Number: 365 APP
ISBN: 0767900561
Publication Date: 2003-04-29
Chronicles the history of the Soviet concentration camp system--the Gulag--examining its creation, its purposes, the process of prisoner arrest and trial, daily life in the camps, and the reasons the Gulag is not a prominent topic in history.

Cover Art
Tsar - Peter Kurth; Edvard Radzinsky (Introduction by); Peter Christopher (Photographer)
Call Number: 920 KUR
ISBN: 0316507873
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
A biography of the last Tsar of Russia and his family with a reconstruction of what happened during their imprisonment and murder by the Communists in 1918.

Cover Art
The Bolsheviks - Adam B. Ulam
Call Number: 921.0 ULA
ISBN: 0674078306
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
The rise of the Bolsheviks is an epic Russian story that now has a definitive end. The major historian of the subject, Adam Ulam, has enlarged his classic work with a new Preface that puts the revolutionary moment, and especially Lenin, in perspective for our modern age.

Cover Art
Russia - Gregory L. Freeze (Editor)
Call Number: 947 FRE
ISBN: 0192158996
Publication Date: 1998-04-09
A distinguished team of historians has stripped away the propaganda of the past to tell the definitive story of Russia, from tenth-century Kiev and Muscovy through empire and revolution to the fall of Communism and the "new order" of the early 21st century. What emerges is a nation of extremes-of imperial opulence and abject poverty, tyrannical power and subversive resistance, artistic achievement and economic crisis, glittering cities and frozen steppes.

Cover Art
A Concise History of the Russian Revolution - Richard Pipes
Call Number: 947 PIP
ISBN: 0679422773
Publication Date: 1995-10-10
Examines the 1917 Russian Revolution, including Lenin's rise to power, the killing of the Romanovs, and the famine of 1921.

Cover Art
Stalin and Stalinism - Martin McCauley
Call Number: 947.084 MCC
ISBN: 0582505879
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Presents a re-examination of Stalinism in light of the collapse of the Soviet Union, exploring the Russian Revolution and the Soviet State in the years between 1917 and 1929, and looking at three specific periods in the history of Stalinism. Includes a selection of documents.

PBS Learning Media

Videos, interactive timelines, projects, images, primary sources - a wealth of resources from PBS.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search the entire Gale electronic reference book collection on a wide array of topics. Citations tools, too!


 

Questia School

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search
 

Florida Electronic Library

Are you in Florida? Do you need library materials? Then this is for you!

 

WorldCat

The secret to my superpowers. Don't tell.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Google it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip