This is the "Home" page of the "US American Immigration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US American Immigration  

Books, articles, and other great stuff on the subject of American immigration.
Last Updated: May 11, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/usimmigration Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of North American Immigration - John Powell
ISBN: 143811012X
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Presents an illustrated A-Z reference containing more than 300 entries related to immigration to North America, including people, places, legislation, and more.

Cover Art
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas - Maryanne Cline Horowitz
ISBN: 0684313774
Publication Date: 2004-12-03
A six-volume survey of the history of Western thought and culture, presented through 700 alphabetically arranged entries. Each entry explores the origin, cultural interpretations, and historical themes of such subjects as beauty, love, feminism, diversity, and social capital, among many others. For students and general readers.

Cover Art
American Eras - Gretchen D. Starr-LeBeau (Contribution by); Thomas J. Brown (Contribution by)
ISBN: 0787614785
Publication Date: 1998-07-24
America Eras offers insightful essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to U.S. history, but reviews them in a broader scope of time. Volumes cover the events, lifestyles, social history and key figures unique to each era.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of American Religious History - Edward L. Queen; Stephen R. Prothero; Gardiner H. Shattuck
ISBN: 1438109954
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Provides information in an alphabetically-arranged format describing and interpreting the diversity of religion throughout American history

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture - Jay Kinsbruner; Erick Detlef Langer
ISBN: 9780684312705
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

 

DVDs in the library

Cover Art
Immigration and cultural change
Call Number: DVD 973 IMM V.12
Explores the social, political, and cultural changes to the nation due to the large infusion of immigrants to the U.S. at the turn of the century.

Cover Art
Industrialization & urbanization, 1870-1910
Call Number: DVD 973 IND V. 11
Covers the last decades of the 19th century, a period of industrialization and urbanization. Includes the steam engine, railroads, the rise of heavy industry, the Homestead Act of 1862, the agricultural revolution, immigration and westward migration, pollution as a social issue, and the conservation movement.

NoodleTools

Log into your Noodle account here to organize research notes, create bibliographies, and even submit projects.

 

Sing along if you can

 

Books in the library

Great stuff on the shelf!

Cover Art
Ellis Island and the Peopling of America - Virginia Yans-McLaughlin; Marjorie Lightman; Statue of Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation Staff
Call Number: 304.8 YAN
ISBN: 1565843649
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
Prepared by the creators of the Ellis Island Museum exhibit, presents a compendium of narrative, historical documents, anecdotes, illustrations, discussion questions, and resources (bibliographies, films, and videos) related to the famous immigrant entry point.

Cover Art
The Warmth of Other Suns - Isabel Wilkerson
Call Number: 304.809 WIL
ISBN: 0679444327
Publication Date: 2010-09-07
Chronicles the decades-long migration of African-Americans who fled the South for northern and western cities between 1915 and 1970, discussing how they altered the cities of America and the African-American community

Cover Art
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life - Timothy L. Gall (Editor)
Call Number: R 305.8 WOR V.1
ISBN: 0787605522
Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Contains entries that provide information on over five hundred world cultures, each with coverage of twenty different areas of daily life, focusing on the traditions, living conditions, and personalities of people in modern times, rather than in the past. Grouped by geographic region.

Cover Art
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations - Eastword Pubns., Inc. Staff; Timothy L. Gall (Editor); Susan B. Gall (Editor)
Call Number: R 903.21 WOR
ISBN: 0787600741
Publication Date: 1997-10-01
A collection of articles that provide information about 201 countries and dependencies, each divided into forty or more mini essays that examine geographic, demographic, economic, social, historical, and political issues; with one entire volume devoted to a discussion of the United Nations and its role in the world.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Questia School

 

Florida Electronic Library

Are you in Florida? Do you need library materials? Then this is for you!

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search
 

WorldCat

The secret to my superpowers. Don't tell.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Google it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip