This is the "Home" page of the "US The Wild West" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US The Wild West  

Last Updated: Nov 30, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/wildwest Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Cover Art
Westward Expansion - Almanac - UXL Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780787648619
Publication Date: 2000-07-21
Events, people and insightful primary sources that present an objective yet entertaining look at frontier life. Contains an almanac, biographies and primary sources.

Cover Art
Westward Expansion - Gretchen D. Starr-LeBeau (Contribution by); Thomas J. Brown (Contribution by)
ISBN: 0787614831
Publication Date: 1998-11-24
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to various eras in U.S. history. Volume 6 is devoted to westward expansion.

Cover Art
U-X-L Encyclopedia of World Biography
ISBN: 9780787664657
Publication Date: 2002-11-15
A collection of 750 biographies and portraits of notable historic and current figures in American and world history, literature, science and math, arts and entertainment, and the social sciences. Illustrated.

 

Streaming online videos

Title Segment Transcript
 

Online biographies

 

Books in the library

Great stuff on the shelf!

Cover Art
Pioneer Women - Joanna Stratton; Arthur M. Schlesinger (Introduction by)
Call Number: 305.4 STR
ISBN: 0671447483
Publication Date: 1982-09-17
Accounts of the daily lives of Kansas pioneer women selected from 800 memoirs collected by the author's great-grandmother.

Cover Art
The Frontier in American History - Frederick J. Turner
Call Number: 973 TUR
ISBN: 0486291677
Publication Date: 1996-06-14
A collection of essays on westward expansionism and the manifest destiny. Considered a landmark book on the subject.

Cover Art
Children of the Wild West - Russell Freedman; George Buctel (Illustrator)
Call Number: 305.230 FRE
ISBN: 0899191436
Publication Date: 1983-10-24
Historical photographs with explanatory text present a picture of life in the American West from 1840 to the early 1900s.

Cover Art
A Life Wild and Perilous - Robert Marshall Utley; Utley M. Robert
Call Number: 978 UTL
ISBN: 0805033041
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
Offers profiles of a collection of mountain men of the early nineteenth century--a group of adventurers who sought individual freedom and financial reward as beaver trappers in the Rocky Mountains--and discusses their contributions to the opening of the American West.

Cover Art
Westward Expansion - Sanford Wexler
Call Number: 973 WES
ISBN: 0816024073
Publication Date: 1991-01-01
Contains excerpts from memoirs, diaries, letters, newspapers, speeches, advertisements, and other primary sources that provide eyewitness reports on the period of westward expansion in America, from 1754 to 1897, and features introductory essays, chronologies, period illustrations and photographs, and brief biographies of key individuals.

 

DVDs in the library

Cover Art
We shall remain: America through native eyes - WGBH Educational Foundation
Call Number: DVD 970 WES
Publication Date: 2009
Disc 1: After the Mayflower, 77 min. Disc 2: Tecumseh's vision, 75 min. Disc 3: Geronimo, 79 min. Narrated by Benjamin Bratt.

Cover Art
Bury my heart at wounded knee - HBO Video
Call Number: DVD 813.6 BUR
Publication Date: 2007
Starring Aidan Quinn. 132 min.

NoodleTools

Log into your Noodle account here to organize research notes, create bibliographies, and even submit projects.

PBS Learning Media

Many rich resources including images, primary source documents, and video clips across hundreds of subjects.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Questia School

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search
 

Oxford Art Online

Google it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip