This is the "Home" page of the "US World War I" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

US World War I  

Last Updated: Sep 29, 2015 URL: http://oda.libguides.com/wwi Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Electronic books

Password is thunder

Cover Art
World War I - Tom Pendergast; Sara Pendergast; Christine Slovey
ISBN: 9780787691813
Publication Date: 2003-12-01
Covers major topics related to the period, including the roots of the war; causes of U.S. involvement; the Espionage Act and Sedition Act; weapons of mass destruction; and more. Profiles the major players of the period, including Woodrow Wilson, Kaiser Wilhelm II, John Pershing, and Henri-Philippe Petain. Presents full or excerpted primary source materials, including diaries, speeches, letters, journals and memoirs.

Cover Art
Americans at War
ISBN: 9780028658063
Publication Date: 2004-12-03
Covers major American conflicts from the Colonial Wars through the War on Terrorism in the context of cultural and social events and conditions on the home front. Illustrated articles cover both biographies and topics such as civil liberties, media, politics, popular culture, religion, memory and national identity, civic celebrations, monumental art, literature, the roles of women and minorities, veterans, science and technology, humor, and music.

Cover Art
American Decades Primary Documents - Cynthia Rose (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787665876
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
Cross-disciplinary source spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws , legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.

Cover Art
American Eras - Gretchen D. Starr-LeBeau (Editor)
ISBN: 9780787614775
Publication Date: 1997-03-01
Includes essays on events, publications, lifestyles and individuals important to various eras in U.S. history.

Cover Art
Dictionary of American History
ISBN: 9780684805337
Publication Date: 2002-12-11
The first comprehensive revision of this classic reference source, originally published in 1940, features updated and revised entries from previous editions, as well as more than 800 new entries covering recent events and topics not covered previously. This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.

 

Streaming online videos

Title Segment Transcript
 

DVDs in the library

Cover Art
World War I - CBS News
Call Number: DVD 940.3 WOR
Publication Date: 1964; 2003
Documents the history of World War I through a series of news reports, beginning with the assassination of Austrian Archduke Ferdinand in Sarajevo and continuing to the post-war era, describing the personalities, battles, and developments associated with the conflict. 3-disc set, black and white with some color sequences.

Cover Art
Paris 1919: inside the peace talks that changed the world - National Film Board of Canada
Call Number: DVD 940.314 PAR
Publication Date: 2008
Paris 1919 chronicles an extraordinary historical event that dissolved empires, redrew maps, engineered the Treaty of Versailles - and created far-reaching consequences that continue to afflict and trouble our world today.

Cover Art
Lawrence of Arabia - starring Peter O'Toole
Call Number: DVD 823.914 LAW
Publication Date: 1962; 2002
Cinematic account of the life of T.E. Lawrence, best known as Lawrence of Arabia, who organized the Arab nations to fight the Turks in World War I.

Cover Art
Gallipoli - starring Mel Gibson
Call Number: DVD 823.914 GAL
Publication Date: 1981; 2005
Two Australian soldiers form a fast but ill-fated friendship as they cross continents and oceans, climb pyramids, and walk through the ancient sands of Egypt on the way to join their regiment at Gallipoli during World War I.

NoodleTools

Log into your Noodle account here to organize research notes, create bibliographies, and even submit projects.

 

Books in the library

Great stuff on the shelf!

Cover Art
The World War I Source Book - Philip J. Haythornthwaite
Call Number: 940.3 HAY
ISBN: 1854091026
Publication Date: 1993-05-01
Provides a reference source on the armies, battles, weapons, and leaders of the first of the great wars.

Cover Art
World War I - Stewart Ross
Call Number: 940.3 ROS
ISBN: 0817240578
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Examines the backdrop of rivalry among world powers, the events that immediately preceded the first World War, the effects of the war itself, and its long term consequences.

Cover Art
A Shattered Peace - David A. Andelman
Call Number: 940.314 AND
ISBN: 0471788988
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Examines the impact that the 1919 Treaty of Versailles had on other parts of the world including the Middle East, the Balkans, and Iraq and maintains that the decisions made in Versailles has had long-lasting global consequences that have extended into the twenty-first century.

Cover Art
Paris 1919 - Margaret MacMillan; Richard Holbrooke (Foreword by)
Call Number: 940.314 MAC
ISBN: 0375508260
Publication Date: 2002-10-29
A study of the first six months of the Paris Peace Conference, between January and July 1919, during which leaders from around the world, including U.S. President Woodrow Wilson, gathered in an effort to shape the peace in the wake of World War I.

 

Library catalog

Find:
Search Keywords Search Titles Search Authors
Advanced Search

PBS Learning Media

Videos, interactive timelines, projects, images, primary sources - a wealth of resources from PBS.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Alyssa Mandel
Contact Info
941-554-5971
Send Email
 

EBSCO Discovery Service

Search EBSCO Discovery Service:

Full-Text Peer Reviewed

Catalog Only Available in Library Collection

Click here to log into your EBSCO folder

 

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Search the entire Gale electronic reference book collection on a wide array of topics. Citations tools, too!


 

Questia School

 

Oxford Art Online

 

Oxford Music Online

 

Florida Electronic Library

Are you in Florida? Do you need library materials? Then this is for you!

 

WorldCat

The secret to my superpowers. Don't tell.

Search for an item in libraries near you:
WorldCat.org >>

Google it!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip